bookofdoom

The Book of Doom

The second hilarious book in Barry’s AFTERWORLDS sequence – comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Adams. There’s panic up in Heaven. They have mislaid the BOOK OF DOOM – the most important object in existence. Oopsy. They think Satan might have stolen it, the sneaky...

BarryHutchison.com

Winner: The 13th Horseman

Scottish children's book awards winner

So, um, yeah. I won an award yesterday. Go me!

The award in question was the Scottish Children’s Book Awards 2012 and The 13th Horseman rode to victory in the older readers category. It was a grand day out, with magicians, music, and a number of bewildered authors being forced to dance Gangnam Style in front of a thousand strong audience of book lovers.

One of my favourite part of the whole day was meeting loads of pupils who’d voted in the awards and come along with their schools to take part in the ceremony. With tens of thousands of children voting right across Scotland there was no way they could all squeeze into the Caird Hall in Dundee, but the ones who did come along really made the most of it and joined in with the fun.

Me with Ryan and Niahm from Dunfermline High School, who announced the winner

Me with Ryan and Niahm from Dunfermline High School, who announced the winner

I am absolutely over the moon that The 13th Horseman was chosen as the winner, particularly as the follow-up, The Book of Doom was published exactly one week before the ceremony. Unfortunately, I completely failed to mention that during my acceptance speech. An amateur’s mistake.

Those of you who’ve been following my progress over the past few years will know this is not the first award my books have won. The first book in my Invisible Fiends horror series took the Royal Mail Award back in 2010 and, I’m pleased to report, I’ve been shortlisted for two more – The Grampian Children’s Book Award and the Lennox Author Award, which will both be announced in one particularly nerve-wracking week in May.

Almost as excitingly, I was invited onto the telly to talk live about how important reading is. It was my first time ever sitting chatting on live TV, and I was secretly dreading the whole hellish ordeal. It turned out to be quite good fun in the end, though, and not nearly as terrifying as I thought.

If you’re in the UK you can watch the interview here until such times as it expires.

Before I go, I’d like to say congratulations to John Fardell and Jonathan Meres, who won the Bookbug and Younger Readers categories respectively for The Day Louis Got Eaten and World of Norm: May Contain Nuts. Top work, fellas!

I’d also like to say a MASSIVE THANKS to the Scottish Book Trust for organising the awards, to all the teachers and librarians who co-ordinated the reading, discussion and voting, and to the thousands upon thousands of school pupils who cast their votes. You’re all legends, no matter what everyone else says.

Children's Author Barry Hutchison at the Scottish Chidlren's Book Awards

Opt In Image
GET EMAIL UPDATES
It's like stalking - in reverse.

Want to find out about Barry's new books or upcoming events? Want exclusive content and competitions available just to subscribers? Then sign up for the newsletter to get email updates every month from Barry himself.

Liked this? Please share it:
Facebook Twitter Digg Tumblr Pinterest Linkedin Email

This entry was posted in Awards, Events, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winner: The 13th Horseman

  1. heather says:

    hi there saw barry today at the mitchell library think hes so funny. was so gutted i never had enough money to buy a book and get it signed by him. was wondering if hes was doing any other signing in glasgow.
    thanks heather x

    • Barry says:

      Hi Heather,

      Glad you enjoyed the talk! I’ve not got any new signings planned for Glasgow yet, but I signed a load of books in Waterstone’s on Argyle Street, so if you want a signed copy you’ll find them all in there. Hope that helps!

  2. Pingback: Lots of Exciting Stuff | BarryHutchison.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back My Book Theme Author: Website Themes for Writers © 2014